APPA Book Award history 2005 -2018

The AIPP Australian Professional Photography Awards have incorporated a Photography Book Award since 2005, and the winning books have been created by photographers from a diversity of genres – landscape, architectural, commercial and portraiture. This post showcases the winning books, their creators and the judge’s rationale for their selection.

Every year the Australian Institute of Professional Photography (AIPP) hosts the Australian Professional Photography Awards (APPA), which has included a Book category since 2005. Momento Pro has been a proud sponsor of the Book award since 2006 and we’ve had the good fortune of sitting in on the judging every year. Below is a visual history of the 13 winners to date, a showcase of the 2018 entrants and winner, and a link to the full judging video. Keep your eye out for the sequel for the Album Award category in coming weeks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

APPA Book Award winner 2005 to 2018

Congratulations to all past winners who spanned various photographic genres – travel, landscape, architecture, commercial and portraiture.  To look through their books or find out more about the creators, click the links below.


2018 Middlehurst / Middle Earth by Peter Eastway (more)
2017 Urban Clarity by Steve Scalone (more)
2016 The Middle of Somewhere by Sam Harris (more)
2015 Geiko and Maiko by Robert van Koesveld (more)
2014 Shark Bay Inscription by Peter Eastway / ND5 (more)
2013 Houses: Denton Corker by Marshall Tim Griffth (more)
2012 The Contemporary Australian Family by Fier Institute (more)
2011 Aquabumps by Eugene Tan (more)
2010 25th Anniversary Big Book by Peter Lik (more)
2009 Three Days in the Gaspe by David Paterson (more)
2008 Who Shot That? by Peter Adams (more)
2007 Abstraction by Ryan Humphreys (more)
2006 No Book category this year
2005 Aerial Abstracts by Jackie Ranken (more)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

APPA Book Award 2018 entries

Congratulations also to this year’s 16 entrants whose work was of the highest standard yet – a reflection of the increasing level of interest in and conversation about photo books, and a result of the updated award criteria.  Under the guidance of Award Chair, David Paterson, the judges  (Kaye Davis, Bill Bachman, Jacqui Dean, Richard Bennett and Karen Alsop) scored ten entries Silver of higher, including five Gold with Distinction – a previously unheard of occurrence. View all the entries above and listen in to the judges feedback in the video here.

2018 Winner – Middlehurst | Middle Earth by Peter Eastway

And hats off to Peter Eastway! Peter was a double finalist but it was his epic Middlehurst | Middle Earth book that earned him a Gold Distinction and the crown. The judge’s felt it was “an absolute standout … a work of art … a real masterpiece,” as you’ll discover at 17 mins 26 secs in the judge’s video. Momento Pro was honoured to have produced this inkjet printed limited edition 42 x 42cm beast for Peter, and we asked him how he went about editing, sequencing and crafting his masterpiece in our interview here.

View some spreads from the book in the slideshow below and the full book here.

About the author Momento Photobooks

Co-founder + Marketing Manager of Momento, creators of premium photo books + custom stationery. A 100% Australian owned + made company dedicated to helping amateur, enthusiast + professional photographers preserve their images in style at

All posts by Momento Photobooks →

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: